An Evening with Alice Jones, Cecily Parks & Kathleen Peirce

June 9, 2017 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Join us for an evening with acclaimed poets Alice Jones, Cecily Parks, and Kathleen Peirce.

Alice Jones’s books from Alice James Books are The Knot, which won the Beatrice Hawley Award in 1992, and Isthmus, winner of the Jane Kenyon Chapbook Award in 2000. Extreme Directions (The fifty four moves of Tai Chi Sword) was published by Omnidawn Press. Books from Apogee Press are Gorgeous Mourning, which won the 2001 Robert H. Winner Award from the Poetry Society of America; and Plunge, a finalist for the Northern California Book Award in Poetry. Vault was a finalist for the National Poetry Series.

Poems have appeared in Ploughshares, Volt, Poetry, Verse, Boston Review, Colorado Review, Denver Quarterly, Kenyon Review, Zyzzyva, and in anthologies including Best American Poetry; Blood and Bone: Poems by Doctors; Verse and Universe: Poems about Science; Vespers: Contemporary American Poems of Religion and Spirituality, and The Addison Street Anthology.

Awards include fellowships from the Bread Loaf Writers Conference and the NEA, the First Annual Narrative Magazine Poetry Prize, and the Robert H. Winner and Lyric Poetry Awards from the Poetry Society of America. She is a founder and co-editor of Apogee Press.

Cecily Parks is the author of the poetry collections Field Folly Snow (University of Georgia Press, 2008) and O’Nights (Alice James Books, 2015), and editor of the anthology The Echoing Green: Poems of Fields, Meadows, and Grasses (Everyman’s Library Pocket Poets, 2016). Her poems appear or are forthcoming in The New Republic, The New Yorker, Orion, and elsewhere. A recipient of a Pushcart Prize, she teaches in the MFA Program at Texas State University.

Kathleen Peirce is the author of four collections of poems, for which she has been awarded The AWP Award for Poetry, The Iowa Prize, and The William Carlos Williams Award. Her work has been supported by the National Foundation for the Arts, The Giles Whiting Foundation, and the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation. A member of the graduate faculty with Texas State’s MFA program in Creative Writing since 1993, her fifth collection will be published by New Michigan Press in the fall of 2017.

Leave a Reply