An Evening with Novelists Natalia Sylvester, David Hicks & Charlotte Gullick

May 9, 2017 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Join us for a reading from novelists Natalia Sylvester, David Hicks, and Charlotte Gullick (left to right, below). We’ll be celebrating the launch of David’s debut novel, White Plains.

Natalia Sylvester was born in Lima, Peru, and came to the U.S. at age four. She studied Creative Writing at the University of Miami and is a faculty member of the Mile-High MFA program at Regis University. Her articles have appeared in Latina Magazine, Writer’s Digest, The Austin American-Statesman, and NBCLatino. Her debut novel, Chasing the Sun, was named the Best Debut Book of 2014 by Latinidad, and was chosen as a Book of the Month by the National Latino Book Club. Her second novel, Everyone Knows You Go Home, is forthcoming from Little A in 2018.

David Hicks grew up in New York, moved to Colorado in his thirties, and is now a professor at Regis University in Denver, where he co-directs the Mile-High MFA in Creative Writing. He and his wife Cynthia enjoy hiking in the mountains with their dog Rosie and meeting the children, Stephen and Caitlin, for a big breakfast afterwards. David has published many stories in such fine journals as Glimmer Train, Colorado Review, and Saranac Review. White Plains is his first novel, and this is his first-ever visit to Austin.

Charlotte Gullick is a novelist, essayist, editor, educator and Chair of the Creative Writing Department at Austin Community College. She graduated with a MFA in Creative Nonfiction from the Institute of American Indian Arts in May 2016. Charlotte’s first novel, By Way of Water, was chosen by Jayne Anne Phillips as the Grand Prize winner of the Santa Fe Writers Project Literary Awards Program. Her other awards include a Christopher Isherwood Fellowship for Fiction, a Colorado Council on the Arts Fellowship for Poetry, a MacDowell Colony Residency, a Ragdale Residency, Faculty of Year from College of the Redwoods as well as the Evergreen State College 2012 Teacher Excellence Award.

Leave a Reply